Salt is great for you!

image

This is pretty sweet. I am currently bloging from my phone. And I am just at Starbucks waiting for my tall, non-fat,xtra whip pumpkin spice latte. And this place is packed! It’s such a lovely evening to. It’s finally getting cooler in the evenings and it is starting to get dark sooner. Did I mention how much I like the fall! I do.

This morning we had communion at church and it was awesome. My Pastor also spoke about salt in this world. Then I started thinking about salt. The actual ingredient. You know when I do cook. I never add salt to anything. It’s true. I think I am afraid that my food would be to salty and it would be yuck instead of Yum! So I just let people put there own salt and add there own flavor. But you see that’s is the thing. Flavor. My food has no flavor at all. In Matthew 5:13 it says, “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown away and trampled underfoot by men.” Those that follow Jesus are like salt: They are called to make a difference in the world. Another scripture in Matthew 5:14-16 Jesus tells his followers,” You are the light of the world. A city that set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and gives it light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

The difference we make is the flavor, the good works we do are to shine like on a lampstand, good witness for Jesus in a very darkened world we live in. Those who believe and obey God are salt of the earth.

Yay for salt!

Leave a Reply

