pick, pick, pick

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres”. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

yay for flowers!

I have a co-worker that asked me the other day, why I’m I “still” single. You know, I thought about that question after I gave him a my usual quick and witty answer, “Because being single is awesome, I can do and go whenever I like, and Jesus hasn’t made the perfect man for me!” There is no such thing as a perfect man. So, I guess I have to stop looking for that younger Matthew Maconahay. But he is soooo dreamy. Okay, seriously enough of that!

Then I started thinking about it, I’m I being too picky? I might be. But I am working on that. I do have certain non-negotiable criteria that if my future man does not have or even working on, then sorry buddy don’t even bother!

I want someone that is compassionate. Having compassion isn’t something you are born with or is because you want to impress someone else. Being and having compassion to others is so amazing to have, even more to witness it. I want someone who has compassion of others whenever they feel the need to help and just be kind. To everyone, not just the ones that suitable for him, but everyone and anyone.

I want someone that is funny hilarious more like it! Not just a big clown or anything. But someone that will make me laugh till I cry. And that can laugh at themselves and not take themselves too serious. Because that is boring and lame. I want someone that can encourage me to be silly and fun and, that LOVES Christmas music (okay that would be a HUGE bonus!)

I want someone that is tough. But let me define what kind of toughness I want. I don’t mean tough like Ike Turner, NO WAY! I mean someone strong, heavy-duty. I know that sounds like a description for garbage bags! Seriously. I want someone that is strong and brave and not some wimpy person. Someone that will know when to speak up and someone that will know when to keep silent and let God do the speaking. To stand up for God and His word. To stand up for righteousness. To be the spiritual leader of our home. I want someone who is confident in who God is calling him to be and is continually searching to please God NOT man. I want someone that will challenge me, but will also put me in my place when the time is right. I can be pretty tough myself, and sometimes I can get a little too feisty for my own good πŸ˜‰

Above all these prerequisites, I do want a man that will love Jesus MORE than me. More than his life, more than anything. That would put God first in all and everything he does. So until then, I will continue to be content and enjoy my singleness. God is teaching me to wait on Him and His will in my life. I love this journey God has me in πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

