one nation under God

i voted!

I was checking my watch and looking around, very nervous. I was running late to an evening class I was taking. It was 1996. And we were having a Presidential Election. Bill Clinton was running against Bob Dole and Ross Perot. I was not voting. I didn’t even register to vote. I was fresh out of high school and thought I had time to do the “grown up” voting thing later.

Fast forward to four years later, 2000 the presidential Election was Al Gore and George W. Bush. I didn’t vote. I did register to vote but I didn’t get around to it. Then in 2004 when we had another Presidential Election I did vote. It was George W. Bush and John Kerry. But I voted because I was trying to impress some guy to think I actually voted all the time! Sad. But true. Then, two years ago the last Presidential Election I voted for John McCain and of course, he did not win. I remember sitting in my living room the next day seeing and hearing all the Americans being so happy and excited that Barrack Obama had won. I was sad. Because Obama’s views are not MY views. And MY views are God’s views. I don’t like politics. So I wont make this blog about bashing a president or what they promised and didn’t promise. All I know, is that God has the deciding vote. He is the one that put Obama in office. We, as believers must get on our knees and ask God for His grace and His forgiveness. We have fallen away from righteousness. We have taken away a simple pledge of America just because we hear children say “One Nation Under God”.

I wish I can go back and change time. To open my eyes and see that we live in this country with so much freedom. But freedom doesn’t come free! We have so many rights that we should not take for granted. I thank God that I live in this country. “Life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.”

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2 Timothy 4:7
“Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” Ephesians 5:17

Leave a Reply

