day off, new readings, and the things i enjoy

Today I woke up feeling refreshed and in such a great mood. Maybe it’s because this semester is coming to end in like a month! Or because I had such a lovely lunch yesterday with my friends that I have not seen in a while. And most important, I have the evening off today! YAY 🙂 I just have two classes this morning and I don’t have to rush and go to work. So, this means I have that much more time to read, this awesome book I started last night. ‘Cold Tangerines’ Celebrating the extraordinary nature of everyday life by Shauna Niequist. I seriously love the way she writes. I finished her other book, ‘Bittersweet’ over the weekend and it was as if I was there with her sharing her life. I read, soaking up Niequist’s simple wisdom and beautiful memories. She spoke to me, and I felt more serene with each page. This is why I LOVE to read. I can escape and be somewhere else. For that hour or two I don’t have a care in the world when I am reading. This is why, I think it is so important to teach kids when they are young to read. To turn off the computer and the tv and just read. Reading with them is awesome. I love to see that. Makes my heart happy. I totally recommend either of these books, or both!

awesome book!

another awesome book!

I have a craving for the little things that make me smile. After everything that goes on in any particular day either at work or at school; I need that time, that minute that makes me smile. I walked into Starbucks the other evening when I was working late and I looked up at the menu. If you know me, you know I usually order the same thing when I am there. Grande ice-coffee unsweeten with half and half and a splash of sugar free vanilla please. So, when I ordered that tall white chocolate peppermint mocha with extra foam. It felt like everything had stopped and then they were looking at me.

YUM!

I am serious. Even the barista that knows me by name. He looked totally shocked! It felt great to order something different and let me tell you this picture does no justice it was soooo GOOD!

One of the other reasons why I woke up feeling so refreshed was because I had me a spa day this past Friday. It was so nice and relaxing. It was my friend’s birthday and she wanted to spend to day at the spa. This spa in particular is the Glen Ivy Hot Springs and you don’t even have to get a massage if you don’t want to. They have a couple of large pools and a some small ones that let you just float around and soak in the beautiful California rays. That day was really nice too. It was warm enough to take a swim, but in the shade you can feel a breeze and it would get a little chilly. It was just lovely. Jesus really blessed our day. Here are a few pics that I took, it was later on because I actually left my phone in the locker so I can truly relax. I took the pictures right when we were leaving.

glen ivy hot springs

spa day!

the best. day. ever.

I am really enjoying this season I am in right now. Jesus puts a smile on my face. Today and everyday. “In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

3 thoughts on “day off, new readings, and the things i enjoy

Leave a Reply

