A friend loves at all times

BFF's

A walked right passed her. She was sitting alone on one of those cold, gray, benches right by the library. I “pretend” to be looking at my phone and checking my emails. I know that she saw me. But I pretend I didn’t see that. Just as long as we don’t make eye contact, right. I get to the third floor and sit down at one of the empty tables and put my stuff down. I can’t get her out of my mind. It was weird. I was feeling so guilty. I had this girl in my class last semester and we talked a bit, mainly about our projects. She was really quiet. I never saw her talking to anyone else and she would be the first to leave class. She has great hair and this really cute book bag that I have been wanting to get for me.

When I first came to the Lord, I didn’t have much Christian friends. I would pray that God would please send me some Christian friends. Five years later and I am surrounded and super blessed by the love, the kindness, the friendships that God has formed in my life. Jesus has not only blessed me with friendships, but my family as well. I remember one of my friends telling me one day, “You know, for someone to have good friends, they must also be a good friend.” Years later I have always remembered that. It is so true. How can I expect anyone to reach out to me, to pray for me, to be there for me, when I don’t do the same to them.

In the Bible it talks a lot of friendships. They are important. You need friends to be there for you. In good times and the bad times. “A friend loves at all times.” Proverbs 17:17 and in John 15:13 “Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.”

As I walked out of the library three hours later, I looked over the empty bench. I was wondering where she went. If she had class right now, or did she go somewhere to eat or maybe she went inside the library and I didn’t see her. My heart ached and I felt just horrible. I walked into the bookstore to pick up something. The line is long. I look over, and I see the book bag and that pretty hair. It’s her. She was right in front of me. I close my eyes for a second, thank God for giving me second chances. I walk over to her and introduce myself again, and ask her if she wants to grab some coffee. We both walk out together, laughing.

“Faithful are the wounds of a friend,but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.” proverbs 27:6

“Oil and perfume rejoice the heart; so does the sweetness of a friend’s counsel that comes from the heart.” proverbs 27:9

“As iron sharpens iron, so a man sharpens the countenance of his friend” proverbs 27:17

“Do not be deceived: “Evil company corrupts good habits.” 1 Corinthians 15:33

Leave a Reply

