some Grace and the mean girl

I am not an aggressive or unkind person. I am usually really calm and I like to contemplate my feelings before I act on them, sometimes. I saw someone who I have not seen in years. We were just friends of friends. Anyhow, she asked if I was married? No. Did I have any kids? No. You would have thought that I told her I had some horrible incurable disease or something. She took my hand and looked into my eyes and said, “Well, that’s okay, you look great, like your glasses.” Seriously. Did that just happen? I was speechless for like a couple of seconds. Then what I did after, I was not proud of. I asked about her screaming child in the car, and of course her happy marriage, she wasn’t married. She explains that she only works a few days because her child suffers from autism. And that is when I felt like going back into my car, and going back home! As I waved at her bye, I felt like one of those mean girls. I am not like that, honest. It just got to me when she was asking me all those questions, and the look on her face was so disappointing. What is wrong with being single and no kids…yet? I have tons of friends, that are married, with kids some with not. I have never, ever felt this way around them or anyone for that matter. I still don’t. But then God really spoke to my heart. I didn’t care what she said to me anymore, it was my actions AFTER that I was disappointed in.

Your grace is all I need.

I thank God that He gives us His grace when we least expect it. So this is why I give my grace to others. When I do see this person again. I am praying to see her again, soon. I wont run and hide from her. I will go up to her and be myself.

“Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away for you, with all malice. And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God in Christ forgave you.” Ephesians 4:31-32

” But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.” Galatians 5:22

2 thoughts on “some Grace and the mean girl

Leave a Reply

