Thankfulness

“Make a joyful shout to the Lord, all you lands! Serve the Lord with gladness; Come before His presence with singing. Know that the Lord, He is God It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves; We are His people and the sheep of His pasture. Enter into His gates with thanksgiving, And into His courts with praise. Be thankful to Him, and bless His name. For the Lord is good; His mercy is everlasting. And His truth endures to all generations.” Psalm 100: 1-5

I cannot believe we only have three days till the great day! Thanksgiving has always been one of my favorite holidays. Not just because we get to have all that scrumptious food, but we get to devote our time to our family and loved ones. I also know that this time of the year can be somewhat demanding because there is so much to do before that delicious turkey meal is served to our loved ones.

being thankful

This year, I have so many things to be grateful for. For starters, my family. I thank God for my parents. For their love, their provision and their encouragement. As I’ve gotten a little bit older, I can easily say I enjoy spending time with my parents. They are such awesome people. We not only share a house together, we share the love of Jesus. It’s such an amazing feeling to get to go to church and worship our Lord and Savior together. I am also thankful for my younger brother, Alex. This one is a bit harder to write about, so bear with me please. My brother and I use to be really close. When I came to Christ, he also did a few months later. I was so excited to have my whole family following Jesus. At the same time my brother had just graduated from high school and he had a new girlfriend, started College and joined a fraternity. He no longer wanted to go to church, or have anything to do with Jesus. Our connection was no longer the same. And now five years later, it gets hard to come home and see him (with a new girlfriend) and feel such a distance between us. It hurts, I can tell you that. But you know what I am thankful for? God shows me, daily to love my brother no matter what. To show him, the love that Jesus has for him. That everything he has in this world, is nothing compare to the love of Jesus. I sometimes think, I might be the only church my brother and his girlfriend are going to see. My witness and my testimony does not stop when I reach the front door, it continues in my house. I am also grateful for my beautiful friends that Jesus has blessed me with. I cannot imagine my life without my friends. I know that no matter when, if I ask any of them to simply lift me up in prayer, they will. I know we don’t spend that much time together, since Jesus has moved a lot of us to different churches now. That is okay. It’s our season. But when we all do get together, it’s always such a blessing 🙂 and lots of laugher!

God has blessed me immensely this year. I have the love of my family and my friends. I have a job that pays the bills. I get to get up every single morning from a warm and cozy bed and praise Jesus for another glorious day He has given me! For that and so many more, I count my blessings twice even three times this Thanksgiving season.

“And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful.” Colossians 3:15

2 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. I love this post!

    “We not only share a house together, we share the love of Jesus.” That is so special and wonderful 🙂

    You obviously have a very loving and thankful heart.

Leave a Reply

