a renewed energy!

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.” Galatians 5:22-24

Self-control is hard. So hard! I just don’t like to deny myself…anything. I have some co- workers that are on their “resolutions” right now, and they are NOT having any soda, (even diet) or chips, or sugary, yummy anything! And, I did say that I was going to start to eat much healthier this year. Not a resolution, but a change. A simple lifestyle change. Simple?! NO! I haven’t had ANY coke zero in two weeks and believe me, the first couple of days was quite difficult. I never realized how much diet soda I was consuming. I still drank a lot of water, but diet soda has so much sodium and all that added caffeine was actually making me more sluggish than anything. Well, I have managed to incorporate a whole lot more fruits and veggies into my diet than I usually eat, so I am pleased with my progress. I just have to find more ways to prepare and cook the veggies differently so I wont get bored with them! Because I know I will.

When I was having those diet soda “headaches” from withdrawal. I kept reading, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible”. Matthew 19:26 ALL things are possible. I wrote it down everywhere, had it with me at work in my little notebook. Looking closing at it, to me it actually means, With man, it is impossible to deny yourself. With man, it is impossible to make those sacrifices. With man, it is impossible to have that self-control. But with God, it is ALL possible. With God, all self control and sacrifices ARE possible! Awesome!

exercise!

My little prayer for today, on this beautiful warm Martin Luther King J.R. Day is for God to keep helping us by making that decision to honor Him with our bodies and be healthy and encourage others to feel empowered, instead of feeling denied. Lord, help us when we have those not so healthy foods that we all crave, that we can have Your self-control to make a healthy and completely different decision. Jesus, help us to realize that our body is a temple, Your temple and that we should not pollute it.

Leave a Reply

