beating the Rock

“Moses took the staff from the LORD’s presence, just as he commanded him. He and Aaron gathered the assembly together in front of the rock and Moses said to them, “Listen, you rebels, must we bring you water out of this rock? Then Moses raised his arm and struck the rock twice with his staff. Water gushed out, and the community and their livestock drank. But the LORD said to Moses and Aaron, “Because you did not trust in me enough to honor me as holy in the sight of the Israelites, you will not bring this community into the land I give them.” Numbers 20:9-12

moses and the Rock

At the beginning of this year, some changes were made at my job. Some people moved to other stores and some new faces were at my work now. I was relieved that the person I least expected, moved to a different store. I say relieved because I was not happy with this certain individual. Weeks after, I got a text from this person saying the nicest things to me, and just basically humbling themselves to me. It was weird. I felt horrible and very convicted. When this person started to show their true colors I backed away and stop showing God’s love. I stopped praying. I stopped caring. I misrepresented God. This is when I should have prayed more, and showed God’s love more.

God had directed Moses to speak to the rock. Nothing else was required. Speaking to the rock would be a teaching for the people. They would hear and see and know how they should handle problems to come. But what did Moses do? He beat the Rock and yelled! Lost control. He misrepresented God.

I was listening to a sermon on k-wave the other day, and what this pastor said was awesome! He said, “how many of you think that we have disappointed God? You cannot disappoint Him. If that was the case, then God would be surprised by your actions. He isn’t. He knows what we are going to do, every single thing. But no matter what He still loves us.” I thank God that He is a God of second and third and even forth chances. I thank Him for His conviction. I thank Him for His love that He keeps pouring in my heart. I thank Him for opening my eyes to His truth. Have a great Monday everyone 🙂

“Give thanks to the Lord for He is good, His love endures forever.”

Leave a Reply

