friendship till the end

“A friend loves at all times.” Proverbs 17:17

friendships

It was the first day of Elementary School. Walking into my 6th grade class, alone this year. I didn’t want my dad to walk me in this time. As I came inside the class, everyone had their seats already and talking like they didn’t have a care in the world. I on the other hand, was worried and started getting nervous and wondering where I’m I going to sit and the most important question with who will I sit with this year. In the 6th grade, it all about who you sit with. Because that will be your buddy for the WHOLE school year! As I looked around the room, I saw familiar faces, but no one wanted me to sit with them. Until I saw her. Her big bright beautiful smile. She waved to me and motion for me to sit right next to her! We haven’t seen each other since we were in 4th grade together, but you would have thought that we had just seen each other. From that day on, we were inseparable! Like two peas in a pod. It was such a beautiful friendship. We had so much fun with each other. We had so many things in common. We both loved the same kind of music, and wore the same white keds. Then my mom had to change work locations, so I had to move away from her. We both went to different Jr Highs. But we saw each other almost every weekend. We would talk on the phone for hours and hours. Watching tv shows together, she would spend the night at my house and we would stay up late and wait for my dad to bring home his pizza from his work. It was the best time ever. I loved it! The phone bill got just a little high, so then my dad set rules for only talking on the weekends. That didn’t last. My mom would let us talk to on the phone right when my dad would go to work in the evenings. We also went to different High Schools. We did have different friends, and different high school experiences, but no matter what we still had each other. Our bond. I was part of her family. She was part of mine. We shared stories about our first boyfriends, our first kiss, our fears, our dreams. She was the sister I never had.

A couple of years ago, our friendship took a different turn. And we no longer shared our lives together. We no longer talked hours and hours on the phone. I thought about her so much during those years. I didn’t want our friendship to end. I missed her and her family so much. I just prayed. For God to heal this friendship. For His love to move in each of our hearts.

A few nights ago, we saw each other again! It was as if we were in 6th grade all over again! We laughed, we talked, we shared stories, we shared what has been happening with each other. I missed her so much. I had my best friend back! Thank you Jesus.

homer and me

2 thoughts on “friendship till the end

Leave a comment