the race of Faith

“let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..” Hebrews 12:1

run with endurance!

As I held my breath and said a little prayer. I stepped on my weight watchers scale on Friday. I looked down and I did it! I lost 15 pounds since February 3! Yay! And it feels great! I know 15 pounds aren’t that much, but I can tell in my jeans and my work pants. That alone makes me feel so good. I am walking more and I have more energy! Without my Starbucks. I could have not done ANY of this without Jesus. Seriously. But why is it when you are trying to eat better you see fating foods everywhere? At work, at school. However, I am NOT walking around eating my carrots and feeling deprived. Not this time around. I know that having weight control is not being on some crash diet and being sad because you can’t have your favorite foods. It is so much more than that. You do have to be disciplined, but putting Jesus first and asking Him to give you His strength and to help you make those right decisions, believe me it does get easier.

I was reading in my Women’s Study Bible the other night and it has a section of weight control. Then I started thinking all those bad foods that give us that “gratification”, when we consume them, for a while we feel better. But how long does that even last? For me, not long at all. I was like this for so long. When I would be stress or overwhelmed with work, school and everything, I would eat to make me feel better.Those “comfort” foods would go a long way, until I will feel bad for over eating. Then, of course the cycle will repeat itself. If you struggle with weight control, God’s Word has encouragement for us:

*Be accepting. God designed your physical make-up. Refrain from criticizing His creation. (Psalm 139:13-16)
Be grateful.
God has given you a triumphal new nature at your conversion. You are admonished to give thanks to God who gives you victory in the Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Cor. 15:57)
Be careful. The Bible, speaking for moderation and against gluttony, condemns over-indulgence. (Prov. 23:20-21) Resist extra helpings and rich foods that add additional inches.
Be disciplined. Achieving temperance in eating will strengthen other areas in your life. (1 Cor. 10:23)
Be active. Regular exercise will help you to reach and maintain your ideal weight. Activity also improves productivity, cardiovascular stamina, and mental alertness. The writer of Hebrews encourages believers to run with endurance (Heb. 12:1).
Be persistent. Just as Paul finished the race (2 Tim. 4:7), you too, can persevere if you set a goal and move forward victoriously to achieve it!

*taken from my Women’s Study Bible

I can do all things though Christ!

9 thoughts on “the race of Faith

  1. WOW! 15 pounds?!?! Girl it’s so hard for me to lose 1! Lol that is quite an accomplishment Carol! GREAT JOB!!! I am so proud of you! And Amen to the encouraging scriptures too!

    • YAY!! Thank you Jess for your kind words πŸ™‚ girl you are doing great! You are totally motivating me and helping with this new healthy lifestyle. LOVE IT!! this season God has me on….ROCKS!!

  2. Carol,

    You are beyond a blessing in my life. I cried when I got your gift in the mail today. I don’t even have the words to express how much you blessed me, but please know that you deeply touched my heart & encouraged me. Thank you for being so wonderful.

    I admire you, my sweet sister, and support you in everything you’re doing. God is working through you. I see Him in you πŸ™‚

    A million hugs ❀ ❀ ❀

    Jaclyn

    • Oh my gosh Jaclyn you got it already?! Sweet πŸ™‚ I just put it in the mail on Thursday I think. I am so glad you like it. I love to journal. So I pray you use it write anything your beautiful heart desires!! You are amazing!! Keep fighting the good fight sister! God is still working in you πŸ™‚

  3. Hello Carol –

    Are you kidding? Carol, 15 lbs. is tremendous so please don’t down-play a terrific milestone. Keep striving forward towards your weight loss goal. You can do it. I know you can. Have a nice Tuesday. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much Charlie! And your right 15 pounds is pretty good. Can’t wait for the next 15 πŸ™‚ thanks again for the encouragement. Blessings to u.

Leave a Reply

