pondering food, lots of food!

Why is it when we have gatherings or reunions. It is usually centered around yummy, delicious, not so good for the waist band food? Yesterday was Mother’s day. So we had a BBQ at my cousin’s house. The girls got in the pool and we adults were munching on chips, dips, and crackers. Then the main course came in, BBQ chicken, with BBQ meat, potato salad and green salad that was really good, but covered in dressing! And to top the high calorie evening off, we had our pick of desserts. Yes, we had cheesecake (thanks to my mom!) and my world-famous Death by chocolate (for the girls!) and they also had cupcakes, cookies, chocolate covered strawberries. Sorry if I am making you guys hungry by now, but seriously food coma!

yes HE is!


Then I started listening to my mom and my aunt. They are always telling us to eat more. Really. I sometimes think my life is like that movie, “My Big Fat Greek Wedding!” This is how it has always been in our household. You just eat. But now comes a new generation that can eat in moderation, but also wants to be fit and make healthier choices. For starters, I should have bought a veggie tray or something green yesterday. I honestly, thought someone was! And I should have simply walked away from the table that is covered with food. Since I have been eating really good these last couple of months all that food at once was so overwhelming. It is hard. But then comes Jesus. He will sustain me. He will be my strength when I am battling to over eat. He will comfort me when food wont. I have faith. I know I cannot do this journey alone. If I didn’t have Jesus. I am proud of the choices I made TODAY, not yesterday. I went out for a good run/walk today and I have been using my juice machine for breakfast and lunch so I can have a good, healthy dinner. This food monster will NOT win this time! No way! Here is an awesome scripture I read this morning : “In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

2 thoughts on “pondering food, lots of food!

  1. SopranoJessi says:

    I feel you! I just spent a weekend in Dubai & Abu Dhabi and……I was totally off the wagon lol. If people just brought healthier items to gatherings, life would be easier 🙂 But don’t worry, just consider it a cheat day & keep on pressing on chica! Love you!

    • Carol says:

      You are right girl it was a cheat day! haha 🙂 I am glad you had fun in Dubai. And it’s okay if you feel off the wagon, just get right back up sister! Thank you so much for your encouragement. You’re the best. Love ya girl!

Leave a Reply

